Busan (부산)

This weekend I traveled to Busan, a city located in the southeast corner of South Korea. I left Seoul Thursday night via an extremely nice express bus. Inside the bus were individual reclining seats for each person, a tv at the front of the bus, and a generous amount legroom. It was a very comfortable four hours.

On Friday, I visited the Gamcheon Culture Villiage. The village was remarkable; the houses were of every color and the ocean in the background made it even more beautiful. Around the village was a road that contained markets, shops, food vendors, and a place for tourists to walk. There were also a few observatories for picture-taking.

IMG_4139

IMG_4159

When I finished walking through the Gamcheon Culture Village, I decided to find something to do indoors and out of the cold. I had found a Lotte Mall nearby, the most popular and most common mall around Korea, and went to The Beauty and the Beast… again 🙂 . I couldn’t pass it up, it is such an outstanding movie.

After the movie, I ate supper at a wonderful all-you-can-eat Korean barbecue restaurant. I always claim Korean barbecue as the “best meal I have ever eaten,” so the moment I realized this restaurant was all-you-can-eat I knew I had hit the jackpot. Later I will write a post dedicated to Korean barbecue.

The next day I went to the Busan Tower, the Jagalchi Fish Market, then to Lotte Mall to view the city. The Busan Tower ended up being under construction so I wasn’t able to go up it. Instead, I took pictures of cherry blossoms and walked to the fish market. The Jagalchi Fish Market is the biggest fish market in South Korea and houses various fish, octopus, squid, crabs, lobsters, eels, and clams. Above the market are restaurants where the seafood from the market is served. One of the restaurants is a raw restaurant, everything is served raw. The other is a buffet so I’d assume the food is both raw and cooked there.

DCIM102GOPRO

DCIM102GOPRO
A small section of the market.

DCIM102GOPRO
Anyone want some skinned eels?
Above Lotte Mall is an observatory/park where you can view the city. In every direction there are mountains and tall buildings that circle the city. I am in awe everywhere I go. Asia is quite different than North Dakota, but they both have beautiful views.

DCIM102GOPRO
Gloomy day in the city of Busan.

DCIM102GOPRO
Oh look, more mountains.

DCIM102GOPRO
The cute rooftop park with the Busan Tower in the background.

“Beloved, now we are children of God, and it is not yet revealed what we will be. But we know that, when he is revealed, we will be like him; for we will see him just as he is. Everyone who has this hope set on him purifies himself, even if he is pure.” -1 John 3:2-3

Leave a Reply

