English Pronunciation & the Bible

Two weeks ago, a man named Joseph approached me and asked me if I would be interested in helping Korean students with their English. Aspiring to become an English teacher myself, I excitedly told him that I would love to help out. Joseph is an English teacher at Hanyang and various other universities. He spent a number of years in the United States where his English language ability grew.

That following Tuesday I helped lead a group of Korean students (I help out a class each Tuesday now). My job was to have a conversation with them and assist them with their pronunciation and grammar. I never realized how lucky I am to be a native English speaker until spending time here. Many students work very hard to learn English and to sound native-like.

After the class I went out to eat with Joseph, a woman named Sharon, a few new friends named Matthew and Edward, and other students who had attended the class. Here I learned that Joseph was a pastor and that he went to the states as a missionary. There, he taught bible study to high school and college students. He offered to lead me in bible study too!

Since initially meeting with Joseph, I have gone to three bible studies. In the first class we discussed the physical and spiritual body. To God, our physical bodies aren’t important, its our spiritual bodies that are valuable. This is because our physical bodies will eventually die but our spirit is everlasting. Although this is true, we cannot have a spiritual body without our physical body just as a pineapple cannot have juicy center without the hard shell.

The second bible study centered around understanding the bible. God was alive so long ago, it was a different time than it is now. God and his people did not have the technology or the knowledge we now have today. This lesson was focused on a great leader named Joshua. Joshua was in a battle with the five kings of the Amorites and asked God to stop the sun and and stop the moon, he wanted time to stop. Back then, the Earth was viewed as flat. The Earth was stationary and the sun and moon revolved around it. Present day, we know that the Earth is round and that it revolves around the sun. Now we might think Joshua is foolish for asking God to stop the sun and the moon but we have to realize the time period Joshua was in. Joseph stated, “faith without reality is dead.” We can’t take everything the Bible says literally, it will not make sense. Therefore, we must look at the Bible through different lenses, the lenses of that time period.

Today, our third lesson was focused on looking at God’s history from a Satellite view. We briefly looked at the Old Testament, the New Testament, and the second coming. On Thursday we will have a detailed discussion about the three.

I love that I am finally becoming active in the community and meeting new people.

“But as for me, I know my Redeemer lives. In the end, he will stand up upon the earth. Whom I, even I, will see on my side. My eyes will see, and not as a stranger.” -Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

