Hà Nội, Việt Nam

Hello! Xin chào!

On Wednesday I left Seoul and went to Ha Noi, Vietnam. The five-hour flight to Vietnam was horrendous and I experienced extreme turbulence for almost the whole duration of the flight. There was a time when I was actually scared for my life and I had a mini panic attack. A flight attendant even fell to the ground during one of the turbulences. Luckily, I was reading a book called “Love Wins” and the chapter I was reading was all about heaven and the unconditional love God has for us; this gave me some reassurance as we were being thrown around in the sky. It was a frightening flight but we eventually made it to the ground safely.

I am staying in an Airbnb in the old quarter. It is super cute and has a lot of Vietnamese charm. The old quarter is the best spot in Hanoi, it is where all the tourists go to get traditional Vietnamese food and to experience the city’s culture. In the very center of Hanoi (and inside the old quarter) is a lake called the Hoàn Kiếm Lake. It is beautiful. I visited the lake on Thursday and saw the Turtle Tower, a famous tower that stands on an island in the middle of the Hoàn Kiếm Lake.

IMG_5744
Mopeds populate the streets of Southeast Asia.
IMG_5792
The Hoàn Kiếm Lake
IMG_5887
Turtle Tower

I also went to the Temple of Literature on Thursday. The temple was built in 1070 and served as Vietnam’s first university to educate royalty. Then it became a university for everyone since Vietnam didn’t have enough universities for everyone to attend. Now it is a temple for tourists to visit.

IMG_5909
The front gate to the Temple of Literature.

IMG_5913

IMG_5959
Buddha inside the Temple of Literature.

On Friday Jake and I revisited exploring the Old Quarter and we went the Thang Long Water Puppet Theater to see a water puppet show. It was a really interesting experience. Throughout the show there were people playing traditional Vietnamese music and there were puppet people, fish, and dragons swimming throughout the water. It was a very cultural show and Jake and I had a great time.
IMG_6122

We spent our last day in Ha Noi going to a pretty lake, a Ho Chi Minh museum, and feeling like celebrities while eating lunch in a Lotteria. The first two things we did are pretty straight forward so I will only explain the last one. Asia is made up of many Lotterias. A Lotteria is a McDonals type restaurant that serves hamburgers, chicken burgers, and fries. We wanted to go somewhere with air conditioning to get out of the dreadful heat so we went their to eat. While finding a place to sit I realized I had two little girls following me. They finally approached me and began saying things in English. They said hello and asked me what my name was and how I was. It was very cute and I was so surprised by their English speaking abilities. They didn’t know much more than what they had said to me but it was still wonderful hearing them speak English at a young age. They sat with me the whole time I was in Lotteria and I was afraid they were going to follow me out.

IMG_6155

Ha Noi, even though I may have hated your extremely hot weather, I loved your culture and your beauty. ❤

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, and in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to preaching and to teaching. – 1 Timothy 4:12-13

Leave a Reply

